Happy Easter

Happy Easter everyone. Today’s blog is my personal reflection on the past year and how having hope is believe hope faithnecessary. It has been a wonderful and stressful year for me and my family.

This time last year I was about to take the National Counselor Examination (NCE), finishing my masters program and my internships, recovering from hand surgery, health issues with myself and my family, and learning to drive. So here I am, studying hard for my classes and this exam and worrying about how I was going to get all my hours done for my internship because if I did not have enough hours I would not be able to graduate until November. So I spent my time listening to my iPod and everything I could find on the different counseling theories.

Fast forward a couple of months to June. I received notification that I actually passed the NCE, graduated and walked, which meant that I got all my hours and class work in on time, applied and received my LLPC, and passed my driving test so I got my driver’s license (first time ever). True independence for the first time in years. I no longer had to depend on people for rides anymore. I was the driver and people have to depend on me.

Today, as I look back on my trials in the past year, I know that I can overcome anything that comes my way. I have yet to get a job in counseling, so in January I started my own practice. There are days when I wonder if I did the right thing, how will I pay my business bills and if there will be enough left over to take a little home, but I sit in MY office and look around I know I am right where I need to be and I am doing what I am supposed to do.

I survived my first Michigan winter driving, still dealing with health issues both mine and my families but I know things will work out. How do I know this because I have hope and faith.

So on this Easter day, hope and faith are needed for healing. But you don’t have to do it alone. I know I could not have survived Graduate School without my family. There were times when I was feeling discouraged and wanted to quit, but they kept me going.

Now I am working towards my goal of being a Fully Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC). So either in 2016 or 2017, I will go from LLPC to LPC.

Leave a Reply

