Determination

Today’s blog is abdetermination1out determination. I have seen people change their lives through determination. I, myself, have used determination before my back surgery to get up everyday and walk even though it took me a long time to get from point A to point B, I still got up and did what I had to do. Even now I use my determination to do things daily even with the pain in my knees, legs, and back make me want to just go back to bed and not get up, I get up and I go.

To me determination is the drive to accomplish whatever your heart desires. According to http://www.Dictionary.com determination means the following:
• The act of coming to a decision or of fixing or settling a purpose.
• Ascertainment, as after observation or investigation
• The information ascertained; solution
• The settlement of a dispute, question, etc., as by authoritative decision.
• The decision or settlement arrived at or pronounced.
• The quality of being resolute; firmness of purpose
• A fixed purpose or intention
• The fixing or settling of amount, limit, character, etc.
• Fixed direction or tendency toward some object or end
• A change for the better or for the worse in the course of a disease
• A fixed movement or tendency toward an object or end
• The ascertaining of the quantity, quality, position, or character of something.determination 3

So you can see that determination has a lot of meanings and there are words that also mean determination. One of the synonyms is perseverance, some more are: assurance, boldness, bravery, conviction, courage, decision, dedication, energy, persistence, resolve, self-confidence, tenacity, willpower, heart, pluck, purpose, resolution, backbone, and fearlessness.

So having determination is a positive thing and there are times when others might take your determination as a bad thing but remember being determined to accomplish something for you or your family is never a bad thing.

Recently, I have had to have the determination to get up daily because of health issues in myself and my family I am always tired. I am in the process of starting my own business, raising three teenagers, spending as much time as I can with my mom (she is currently in the hospital with heart issues), and taking care of finances and household issues. I wake up tired and I go to bed exhausted and there are days that I struggle with actually getting up and going. Yes, I am a counselor and I have my own issues with depression so I know how it feels.

Until next time, keep going and your willpower, heart, desires will eventually turn your dreams into a reality.

2 thoughts on “Determination

  1. This is a great post on the subject of determination! I am realizing quite a different kind of life because of my determination and my wish is to help other people in life and my profession to do the same. This post will definitely be shared on my part.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

