Goals Vs. Resolutions

Hapgoals-1py New Years Everyone…I hope that on the second day of 2017 everyone is doing awesome.  Every year we hear about resolutions.  Some people set their resolutions to lose weight, eat healthier, go back to school, etc. #goals  #2017ismyyear

 

My resolution is not to make any.  I know myself well enough that I will never keep it and end up feeling down in the dumps in a couple of weeks.  So this year I am going to set goals.  First, let’s define what is a resolution and a goal.  According to dictionary.com a goal is the result or achievement toward which effort is directed; the terminal point in a race. A resolution is the formal expression of opinion or intention made, usually after voting, by a formal organization, a legislature, a club, or other group; the act of resolving or determining upon an action, course, of action, method, procedure, etc.; a resolve, a decision or determination; the mental state or quality of being resolved or resolute, firmness of purpose; the act or process of resolving or separating something into constituent or elementary parts.

 

So I am making goals and not resolutions for both my personal life and my professional life.  I am going to set a goal and then break it up into steps that are easily obtainable.

 

For my personal goal I would like to become healthier, watch what I eat, move more each day, take medications as prescribed.  For my professional goal I would like to have 20 clients a week. I will market more each week, blog more, post more on Facebook.

 

In order to set a goal you have to consider what you want to achieve and then commit to it.  It needs to be SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time-bound) goals that motivate you and make sure you write them down in order to make them feel tangible.  Then you plan the steps you must take to realize your goal, and cross off each one as you work through them.

 

If you want to know more about setting goals you can Google it or contact someone that is knowledgeable about goal setting.

 

If you or someone you know needs help with setting goals or finding your life’s purpose please contact me at 517-894-4416 or email me at darlacarmoneyllpc@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

