New Project

Hi everyone…Happy September. It is hard to believe that the year is over halfway gone. It feels like it was just January and here it is September. Why does time have to move so fast these days?

I wanted to ask for help with a new project I am working on. As many of you know if you have been reading my blog for a minute, I am a Substance Abuse Counselor. I have decided to combine my two passions: writing and addiction. I am going to be working on a book that is going to explain addiction and current research.

I would like to have a chapter in the book where I tell stories of those in recovery and survivors of family members who have overdosed. I believe this book will help end the stigma of addiction and explain it better for those who don’t understand it.

In my five years working in this field, I have lost about 10 previous clients to overdoses or deaths caused by the use of substances that interfered with other body systems. I have dealt with my own grief and wished there was something else I could do. I have heard from previous clients that their family members don’t understand their addiction or if they are on Medication Assisted Treatment (suboxone, Vivitrol, or methadone) they are just trading one substance for another.

So my goal with this book is to provide insight to those in all stages of recovery and addiction and current research about addiction and treatment, along with resources of where to go for help.

If you would like to contribute a story or any advice for others in recovery please email me at darlacarmoneyllpc@gmail.com and put “Addiction book” in the subject line.

Leave a comment