My Mission…

What is your mission?

What is my Mission? I believe my Mission is to be the best counselor and mother/grandmother I can be.

As a counselor, my job is working with individuals that are dealing with substance use disorders along with mental health issues. I use my education and experience to help my clients find their purpose in life and learn how to deal with their addiction and what caused their addiction.

As a parent/grandparent, my job is to support my children and grandchildren to the best of my ability. I have 3 adult children and 3 grandchildren with 1 on the way (will be here in June 2024). I try to spend as much time as I can with my children and grandchildren to the point where my self-care is usually put last.

I even have a mission to myself. I have to make sure I schedule alone time and self-care for not only my physical health but my mental health. I have learned that if I focus on work or family and not spend any time on myself I will experience an increase in depression, irritability, and restlessness. So I am trying to make 2024 the year I focus on my self-care. I am planning on taking 1-2 days a month off of work just to rest and relax. I will put the phone on Do Not Disturb and just spend the time I need to with myself.

So what is your mission in life whether personally or professionally?

Leave a comment