Feeling Loved

Bloganuary writing prompt
Can you share a positive example of where you’ve felt loved?

The example I have where I felt loved was with my kids and grandkids. When my kids were little they were so excited when I would get home from work or school that they would run to me. My grandkids do that now, especially the two older ones (4 and 3), they always want to be with me. I love the attention but at the same time, I would like some alone time.

My mom and grandparents made me feel loved. My mom was my best friend and I knew that no matter what I did I could always count on her for her love and support. I know everyone experiences “love” differently, but when I have experienced it, I felt contentment, accepted, wanted, and fulfilled. My mom was a single parent, but she ensured I had everything I needed and wanted. She kept a roof over our head, and food in the cupboards and she was there when I needed help the most. 

When my son was born, she was sick and she was up at the hospital with me more than my husband was. She was by my side as I welcomed my first child into this world. She made sure that both my kids and I had everything we needed for school, work, and home even when she was severely sick she was still thinking of her family.

When I first held my son after he was born, I fell in love with him, there wasn’t anything I wouldn’t do for him. But when I held my first grandchild, my love was different. I knew that I would lay down my life for my granddaughter. 

As a counselor for the past 9-10 years, I have had clients who have never felt loved by their parents, spouses, children, or other family or friends. They don’t know what love is or how it feels to be loved and cared for. Most of my clients don’t even love themselves because of things that have happened in the past and my goal with them is to help them learn to let go of the past and learn to love not only themselves but their friends and family.

My hope is that everyone can feel love either with someone in their lives or with self-love. In my opinion, love is life, family, friends, and the things that you are passionate about. 

Leave a comment